The Ortho-Preferred Orthopaedic Advisory Board is comprised of prominent orthopaedic surgeons, knowledgeable in risk prevention and medical education, who can offer best practice insights into services such as:

  • Defense Team Training
  • Educational Grants
  • Health Care Insights
  • Quality Education
  • Risk Prevention Training
  • Research Studies

Current Orthopaedic Advisory Board Members:

Richard J. Haynes, MD is a graduate of University of California – San Francisco, School of Medicine. He completed his orthopaedic surgery residencies at Walson Army Hospital, Letterman Army Medical Center, and Shriners Hospital – San Francisco. Past-President of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery and the Western Orthopaedic Association, he has served on the AAOS Board of Councilors, and was an AAOS Member of the AMA Resource Based Relative Value Scale Update Committee (RUC). Dr. Haynes serves on the Board of Trustees for OREF and received their OREF William F. Tipton, Jr. Leadership Award in 2006. He was also honored with the 2007 Distinguished Southern Orthopaedist Award from the SOA. 

Lawrence R. Housman, MD completed his medical education at the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, his orthopaedic surgery residency at the Montreal General Hospital, McGill University, and a fellowship at Sunnybrook Hospital, University of Toronto. Currently with Tucson Orthopaedic Institute, PC in Tucson AZ, Dr. Housman is also a Managing Director (Ex Officio) for the WOA, and was past-President of the Arizona Medical Association and past Chief-of-Staff for Tucson Medical Center. He received the National Service Award from the Arizona Medial Association in 2007 and is a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (Canada) and the AAOS and served as a member of the AAOS Board of Councilors.

L. Andrew Koman, MD received his medical degree and completed his residency in orthopaedic surgery, as well as a fellowship in hand/ microsurgery, at Duke Univeristy. A Professor and Vice Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Wake Forest University for the past 30 years, his clinical practice has been devoted to peripheral nerve repair, pediatric orthoapedics, cerebral palsy, spasticity management, and microsurgery. Dr. Koman has received the Kappa Delta/OREF Clinical Research Award, the Arthur H. Heune Memorial Award from The Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, and the Established Investigator in Clinical Sciences Award from Wake Forest University.

Elliot H. Leitman, MD received his medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine. Following his orthopaedic surgery residency at Albert Einstein Medical Center, he completed a sports medicine fellowship at 3B Orthopaedics. He is Board Certified by the ABOS and has an added certification in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine. Dr. Leitman has also been a member of the AAOS Medical Liability Committee and has taught shoulder, knee, and hip arthroscopy through the Arthroscopy Association of North America. He currently practices with First State Orthopaedics, in Newark, Delaware, and serves as team physician for the NBA-D League, Delaware 87ers, and for area college and high school teams.

William McMaster, MD is a graduate of Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. He completed his general surgery residency at the University of Chicago, orthopaedic residency at the UC Irvine School of Medicine, and completed a USPHS fellowship in surgical research at the University of Chicago. An ABOS certified orthopaedic surgeon, Dr. McMaster specializes in the medical and surgical management of hip and knee afflictions including osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, and post traumatic arthritis. He is Chief of the Orthopaedic Services and resident Director at the Long Beach Veterans Affairs Medical Center. Dr. McMaster is a board member of COA, WOA, AAOS, SICOT Foundation, and OREF Fellowship.

James A. Nunley, MD earned his medical degree from Tulane University School of Medicine. He completed his general surgery residency at UCLA Medical Center and his orthopaedic surgery residency, as well as a fellowship in hand and microvascular surgery, at Duke University, where he is now Director of Foot and Ankle Surgery. He specializes in foot and ankle pain and injury, and ankle replacement surgery. Dr. Nunley is the author of more than 190 peer-reviewed articles and 35 book chapters, and has served as editor of two orthopaedic textbooks and holds editorial positions on many medical journals, including consultant editor for The Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery and section editor for Orthopaedic Care.

Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD began his medical education and orthopaedic residency training in India. His training continued in the US with fellowships in rheumatology-orthopaedic reconstructive surgery and hand surgery at the Hospital for Special Surgery. At Lenox Hill Hospital, Dr. Ranawat served as the James A. Nicholas Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. Currently a clinical professor of orthopaedic surgery at Weil Medical College of Cornell University, he also attends at the Hospital for Special Surgery. Dr. Ranawat’s practice focuses on primary total hip and knee replacement and revision total joint surgery. He holds patents for total hip, knee, wrist, and elbow implant systems.

Bruce A. Seideman, MD earned his medical degree from Albany Medical College. He completed his general surgery residency at Beth Israel Medical Center in Boston, his orthopaedic surgery residency at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, and a fellowship in hip and knee joint replacement surgery at the Mayo Clinic. He has been in practice with, and is President of, the Orthopaedic Associates of Manhasset in Great Neck, NY since 1987, specializing in total hip and knee replacement. Dr. Seideman served as Chief of the Joint Replacement Service at North Shore University Hospital until 2011, and is currently Director of the Joint Replacement Service at Saint Francis Hospital in Roslyn, NY. He is a fellow of the AAOS, a Diplomate of the ABOS, and a member of AAHKS.